Food

Food for thought. Tabouli, Chickpea Salad, Black Bean Hummus, and Pita Bread.

20130514-175604.jpg

I came down with a sinus cold last night that was pretty intense, then consequently I went in and out of a fever most of the night. Contrary to popular medicine I actually don’t try to kill a mild fever because it is naturally your bodies way of healing whatever is bothering it by heating it up. Generally infections thrive at body temperature, so your body heats up and kills infection. When we try to get rid of a fever with Tylenol or something we actually can prolong whatever is ailing us.

So after a fever’y night, I woke up feeling pretty crumby still, but a lot better, and now by the end of the day I’m feeling much better, on my way to feeling fine!

This dinner is full of parsley which is loaded with health benefits, and one of them just happens to be to prevent fever! So not that I’m fevering now, but I thought it was interesting, and I will remember for next time!

These recipes are pretty simple, I found them all over the Internet, so I’ll just post links :)

Tabouli: http://www.chezbettay.com/pages/salads1/salads_tabouli1.html
Chickpea Salad: http://www.vegangela.com/2011/11/11/mexican-chickpea-salad/
Blackbean Hummus: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/black-bean-hummus/

Serve those up with some toasty pita bread, and you got yourself a summer meal!

Standard

Leave a Reply

