Food, Learning

Food for thought. Recipe. The Best 100% Whole Wheat Bread.

20130502-065057.jpg

I am in love with bread. I think this gluten-free thing is a trend. Lol. Maybe let me explain. I think that we’re eating too much refined flour bread type foods, that’s for sure, and I have no doubt that that’s making us sick, I also think that there is a number of people that are actually allergic to wheat, but is it a huge population of people? I don’t know. People in Europe are doing fine. Anyways, regardless as to what I thought about gluten-free stuff, I decided to see if I was allergic or not a year ago. I went a month without bread or wheat in any form. I hated it, and I also didn’t notice any difference in my life whatsoever, except the absence of bread! Stay away from grocery store breads, make your own, and you should be fine!

This bread recipe is simple, hearty, delicious, and makes two wonderful loaves. I make this recipe twice a month, use one loaf right away, and freeze the other loaf for the next week.

The Best 100% Whole Wheat Bread I’ve Ever Made

What you need:

  • 2 3/4 cups warm water
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup honey or agave
  • 1 tbsp sea salt
  • 6-7 1/2 cups organic whole wheat flour
  • 2 tbsp dry active yeast

What you do:

  1. Put the warm water into a big mixing bowl and activate the yeast. Once the yeast is dissolved and foamy, add the olive oil, honey, and salt.
  2. Next add the flour one cup at a time, until it reaches a good consistency for bread dough. Not too dry, not too tacky. I always air on the side of less flour when it comes to working with whole wheat, because it is heavier, and I still want a good rise.
  3. I know people say you should always knead bread dough, but I’ve had better luck with this dough when I don’t knead it. Just mix in the flour, mold it into a ball, and let it sit, covered, in the bowl for 45 minutes. Doesn’t necessarily have to double, but it should rise.
  4. Once the dough has risen, punch it down, divide in two, and shape the loaves. Grease two bread pans, and place loafs inside. Cover them and allow them to rise on top of the stove while the oven heats up to 350*. By the time the oven has heated up, the loaves should have doubled in size. If not, don’t worry too much about it, either let it rise 15 minutes or so more, or see what happens when you bake them.
  5. Bake in the preheated oven for about 35 minutes. You want the bread to be golden brown all over and to make a hollow sound when you tap on the top of it.
  6. Once they are baked, turn out of pans on to cooling racks, and let cool completely before placing them in bags or containers to be stored.

20130502-065113.jpg

20130502-065123.jpg

That’s it. I hope you have success! I love this recipe, as it has never failed on me! Enjoy delicious, healthy, no worries, bread.

20130502-070656.jpg

Standard

Leave a Reply

